P.188X @ H.S. 790

March 25, 2020

Dear P188X @ H790 Families:

As you know, the health and safety of our students and staff is our top priority. Much has changed very rapidly with respect to COVID-19 in our school community and citywide. School buildings are now closed to students until April 20, 2020, and remote learning commenced this week for all students.

With respect to the P188X community, I am writing to inform you that a member of our school campus has self-reported that they tested positive for COVID-19. A disinfection of the school building has been completed in accordance with New York State Department of Health guidelines. As a reminder, the DOE routinely conducts deep cleanings in your school.

Please also note that according to the NYC Department of Health, there is now widespread community transmission of COVID-19 in New York City, meaning the sources of new infections are unknown. Everyone in New York City should act as if they have been exposed to COVID-19. That means monitoring your health closely and staying home if you are sick. New Yorkers who are not sick should also stay home as much as possible and avoid all unnecessary social interactions.

What You Should Do

  • If you feel sick, do not go to school or to work.
  • Call your doctor if you have symptoms like coughing, shortness of breath, fever, or sore throat and tell your doctor that you may have been exposed to COVID-19. If you need help finding medical care, call 311.
  • Educate yourself about COVID-19 through the NYC Health Department’s website at https://www1.nyc.gov/site/doh/health/health-topics/coronavirus.page.
  • Continue to practice gen eral viral infection prevention measures including:
    • Wash your hands with soap and water often.
    • Cover your nose and mouth with a tissue or sleeve when sneezing or coughing.
    • Do not touch your face with unwashed hands.
    • Do not shake hands. Instead, wave or elbow bump.
    • Monitor your health more closely than usual for cold or flu symptoms.
    • Get your flu shot – it’s never too late.
    • Reduce overcrowding by walking or biking, if possible.
    • If the train is too packed, wait for the next one.

Please visit schools.nyc.gov/coronavirus for important school-related guidance and nyc.gov/coronavirus at any time for critical updates, including ways to fight stigma and bias around the coronavirus. It’s important we come together and support one another during this time. 

Nothing matters more than the health and safety of our staff and students, and we are committed to keeping our school community fully informed.

Please do not hesitate to contact Superintendent Ketler Louissaint, KLouiss@schools.nyc.gov 212-802-1520 with any questions.


Sincerely,
Shanie Johnson Smith-Baugh

Principal

 188X@790: What to Know! Who to Call! banner 

Our Activities of Daily Living (ADL) classrooms is fully equipped with a kitchen, washer and dryer. It is in this classroom that students will gain the skills to live independently as adults. Students learn meal preparation, shopping skills, and grooming skills. It is our goal to have all students procure some form of independence prior to transitioning into the adult world.

 An auditorium: "When we create schools that we value, for our children, and for ourselves, we will have created schools of value to others as well."  

Our Classrooms

In keeping with the age of technology, all of our classrooms are equipped with state of the art SmartBoards. Utilizing SmartBoards has revolutionized the instruction process. Students are engaged and teachers have a more hands-on approach to teaching. Technology is a major component in the 21st Century and we are equipped to provide our students with the skills necessary to succeed in the world.

Staff Organization

P188X 2019-2020

**Organization is subject to change based on school allocation and student referrals**


P188X @ HS 790

Administration Title Ext. Email
Shanie J. Smith-Baugh Principal Ext. 132 sjohnso28@schools.nyc.gov
Wahnda Milton Assistant Principal H790 Ext. 4110 wmilton@schools.nyc.gov

 

Office Staff Title Ext. Email
Antoinette Lee Transition Linkage Coordinator RM B01 alee25@schools.nyc.gov
Laura Combs School Aide RM B39A Ext. 4390, 4393 lcombs3@schools.nyc.gov

 

TEACHER & CLASS ASSIGNMENTS Ratio Class Grade Room E-mail
Michael Rizzo Inclusion L10 H B39 mrizzo11@schools.nyc.gov
Michelle Siefert Inclusion L11 H B39 mseifert@schools.nyc.gov
Ciara Moffat Inclusion L12 H B39 cmoffatt2@schools.nyc.gov
Denyse Edwards Work site W01 H B01 dedwards8@schools.nyc.gov
Jarrall Blount 12:1:1 V01 H (A) B05 jblount@schools.nyc.gov
Ashanti Rhett 12:1:1 V02 H (A) B16 arhett@schools.nyc.gov
Andrew-Luke Singh 12:1:1 V03 H (A) B14 asingh21@schools.nyc.gov
Gene Bascom 12:1:1 V04 H (A) B13 gbascom@schools.nyc.gov
Joseph Osei 12:1:1 V05 H (A) B16 josei@schools.nyc.gov
Eric Daur 8:1:1 X22 H (A) B04 edaur@schools.nyc.gov
Carolyn Joyner 8:1:1 X23 H (A) B10 cjoyner@schools.nyc.gov
Andrew Anderson 8:1:1 X24 H (A) B04 aanderson30@schools.nyc.gov
Sheila Parra Sanchez 6:1:1 Y01 H (A) B08 sparras@schools.nyc.gov
Michael Guida 6:1:1 Y02 H (A) B07 mguida2@schools.nyc.gov
Mellciea Campbell 6:1:1 Y03 H (A) B13 mcampbell45@schools.nyc.gov

 

CLUSTER TEACHER ASSIGNMENTS Subject Area Room Email
Mathew Skrypack APE Gym MSkrypack@schools.nyc.gov
Jazelle Bruce Math & Technology Push-In jbruce4@schools.nyc.gov
Eric Barnett ADL Push-In EBarnet4@schools.nyc.gov
Wendy Gil ART Push-In

wgil@schools.nyc.gov

 

 

RELATED SERVICE PROVIDERS Subject Area Room Email
Cherice Acevedo Speech B18 caceved7@schools.nyc.gov
Taiye Ologunja Speech B39 tologunja@schools.nyc.gov
Kristen Verska School Psychologist
Library kverska@schools.nyc.gov
Lachone Forrest Counselor B02 lforrest@schools.nyc.gov
Mercedes Gracioso Guidance 415 gmercedesdecabral@schools.nyc.gov
Barrett Inman ENL B39 (Push-In) binman2@schools.nyc.gov
Akinwunmi Jones OT B18 (Push-In) ajones94@schools.nyc.gov
Lizette Talan PT TBD MTalan@schools.nyc.gov